hostdv.blogg.se

Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster
Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster









  1. #Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster movie#
  2. #Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster full#

#Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster movie#

While the movie’s dialogue was a tad flat, and the character development a bit underwhelming, with the exception of one of the best written female leads in modern blockbuster filmmaking in Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi), the movie was helluva fun. After hours of glorious and colorful robot versus monster fighting, the gateway was closed and humanity was saved. In retaliation, all of the world’s governments create giant robots called Jaegers (German for “hunters”) to fight the monsters.

pacific rim uprising 2018. poster

For those of you who didn’t see the first movie, an interdimensional gateway opens within the Pacific Ocean, unleashing giant monsters named Kaiju (Japanese for “strange beasts”) upon the Earth. Granted, his concept of giant robots being piloted by two people in order to fight an alien menace in the form of giant monsters is influenced by an anime series entitled “Neon Genesis Evangelion”, but let’s be honest, Hollywood can’t do live action anime right, so we’re all better off that Del Toro didn’t make a full-on adaptation. As I mentioned in my review for “The Shape of Water”, I consider Del Toro to be one of the few creative forces left in the uncreative wasteland that is modern Hollywood. Needless to say, I was quite excited in 2013 that we got Guillermo Del Toro’s “Pacific Rim”. After such offerings like giant fighting robots from outer space with “Transformers” in 2007, and a piloted mech armored suit from “Iron Man” in 2008, I wondered how long it would take for us to get a live action movie featuring giant robots piloted by humans. Any kind of animation involving giant robots, fighting or otherwise, is like mother’s milk to me. And my all-time favorite kind of anime are the ones that feature mecha, which if you don’t know, are giant robots, either self-controlled or piloted by humans.

#Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster full#

I have my small collection of anime TV series and movies on DVD, a sizable amount of my Netflix watchlist is made up of anime, and I watch Crunchyroll on occasion, although I don’t have a full membership with them.

pacific rim uprising 2018. poster

I’m more of a casual fan, not a true otaku (slang for someone who is a “die hard fan of anime”, or some other hobby), and I would also consider myself an “old-taku” (an anime fan who got into the medium through early 80s anime like “Robotech” or “Voltron”). While movies are my main obsession and preferred form of entertainment, I also like to enjoy Japanese animation, or as it’s commonly known as, anime.











Pacific rim uprising 2018. poster